Banner image

Testimonials

Awarded

Top 20 award in East of England 2023

www.daynursery.co.uk 

Mount Carmel Kindergarten is proud of its reputation in St Albans and the surrounding area and many families come to us through personal recommendation.

See below for some of our most recent reviews from current parents at the nursery. All reviews have been submitted through the independent website daynurseries.co.uk.


★★★★★
After sending my son to Mount Carmel, I always new I would send my daughter as well. They have both loved every minute of it. I sent my daughter a year earlier than my son as she was born in lockdown and I didn't want her to struggle with leaving me, making friends or learning and she has come on leaps and bounds. The caring and nurturing staff are amazing and have now, over the years, become our friends. I would highly recommend.
Laura C
★★★★★
Excellent nursery provision. Outstanding care, staff, activities and facilities. All of my children have been so happy here. Would highly recommend.
Karen P
★★★★★
The care, nurture and teaching provided are more than we could have ever hoped for. Our son is delighted to walk through their door every day which is what every parent hopes for. All the staff know you and your child so well - it really does feel like an extended family. This is our second child to attend, and we’ve been recommending it to everyone since the first month our daughter joined. As parents we feel relaxed and secure on the days he’s there and can’t wait to hear and see what activities he’s been up to. Mount Carmel is helping to shape our boy into a beautiful well rounded little man.
Faye W
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is the most wonderful place. My daughter has thrived in the warm, nurturing and caring environment. All the staff are excellent at putting the children at ease and I feel that they are truly preparing them for life at school. Well done Mount Carmel.
L J
★★★★★
We are greeted every morning by staff at the door where the children are spoken to and asked how they are and what they are going to be doing during the morning. The best welcome for parent and child in my opinion!
Pavel N
★★★★★
We are very grateful to Mount Carmel Kindergarten for providing our daughter with the best possible start to school life. Over the two years, we have watched her grow in confidence, made wonderful friendships and developed an appetite for learning. The staff team are brilliant at nurturing the individual child. From welcoming parents on the door and sending regular newsletters, to the amazing Christmas production and offering advice on the next step, Mount Carmel Kindergarten has it covered. We will be sad to leave. Thank you so much.
Abigail H
★★★★★
Both of my children have thrived and been well cared for at Mount Carmel Kindergarten. The staff are wonderful and the preparation for school is excellent. I cannot recommend them enough.
Samantha G
★★★★★
The nursery is forward thinking adapting and improving all the time. They have done an excellent job getting my son ready for school. His is familiar with his phonics and numeracy. We like tapestry which keeps us up to date with EYES and progress our son is making.
Tina S
★★★★★
My daughter enjoys going to nursery very much. She loves wearing the uniforms. The playground is spacious and there are a lot of activities available for the kids to play.
Anja J
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is a lovely and warm environment. Both of my children have loved every minute there. The facilities are excellent and the staff clearly care about the children. The carousel system where the children move from room to room to different activities keeps them engaged and stimulated. The garden is fantastic and very well equipped. My children have thrived in their care and I'm delighted that they have enjoyed the best possible preparation for school.
A N
★★★★★
A lovely, lovely nursery. We've been delighted with the provision for our daughter and are sad to be moving on. However, we know that she will be very well prepared for reception in September. I'd definitely recommend Mount Carmel to other parents.
Lucy W
★★★★★
I am so happy that my grandson has thrived at Mount Carmel starting nursery can be such a stressful time for both parents and children but Mount Carmel effortlessly put both my daughter and grandson at ease. As an ex-nursery school teacher I couldn't rate it highly enough.
Shirley S
★★★★★
My son absolutely loves attending Mount Carmel Kindergarten! He can't wait to put on his uniform in the mornings and doesn't even glance back when I drop him off. I can't recommend the nursery highly enough.
Sara F
★★★★★
Mount Carmel has been absolutely the best choice for my children's pre-school year. The teachers are so warm towards the children and really do listen to and respect them. Their learning has progressed so much and even more so, their curiosity! I know that my children are being well cared for all day and the staff keep up great communication via "family" too. The settling in process was so smooth and the children are sometimes sad when it is not a "Mount Carmel day". The options for holiday club(s) and extended hours are fantastic, especially as a working parent. The range of activities provided are excellent and make great use of all the purpose-built facilities. The setting is clean, welcoming and provides a home from home environment. I cannot extend my gratitude any further to the staff and management at Mount Carmel. Thank you.
E R
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is truly a magical and wonderful kindergarten to go to. It is like a home-from-home. The teachers are all so warm, friendly and nurturing. My son absolutely adores Mount Carmel and so do I. Not only are they there to help, support and care for your child but parents too.
They take the time to help and guide you through your child developing and growing into little people. My son continues to blossom every day that he goes.
I could not have wished for a better place to send him. It's the perfect place to be.
Oliver L
★★★★★
My daughter started this September and settled wonderfully thanks to the kind attentive teaching staff. She is itching to get into her uniform each morning and always leaves with a skip and a smile proudly clutching her latest masterpiece. Highly recommended!
D T
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is just the most wonderful nursery and preschool in St Albans. The amazing, very knowledgable staff go above and beyond to ensure all the children are happy and having lots of fun, but also learning something new at every opportunity. Our eldest daughter has just left and she’s a confident, secure, happy little girl who is more than ready to start school in September (despite being born at the end of August). Our youngest is gearing up to start next term and she could not be more excited to begin! We couldn’t recommend Mount Carmel Kindergarten highly enough. 5*
S W
★★★★★
We are delighted with Mount Carmel it is exceptional in every way and this is evident in all the happy, engaged children. It is a great environment for little ones. It is creative, varied and structured all at once. Our little boy has learned lots, built lovely friends and had great fun along the way. Management and teachers have a great rapport with parents- it's an honest dialogue and everything feels open for discussion which is appreciated. My son has loved the arts activities, the ample outdoor play and the engagement with the natural world- pet day and crocus planting especially!
Mary O
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is an amazing nursery school. My daughter is thriving and we have seen such growth in her.
My daughter can't wait to go to nursery in the morning and loves to tell me all about her day at pick-up.
Her teachers are amazing, they support and encourage her to reach her full potential.
We also get weekly pictures and reports which we love reading together.
A wonderful nursery and peace of mind your child is safe.
N H
★★★★★
My twins have been attending Mount Carmel for over a year now, and they are both loving it! They are really happy there. I can honestly say it is an amazing kindergarten with outstanding childcare and support and I am a very picky parent! All the management and teachers are so well trained understanding and kind. They offer great activities to the children and use an innovative app to keep parents updated and grandparents included as well. All I can wish for is for them to open a primary school by September 2021!
Melanie C
★★★★★
We were very worried about our son going to nursery and how he would cope, how the staff would manage him and his particular needs. We are so grateful for the kind and loving support he has received over the past few months, we couldn't be happier he is at Mount Carmel. It is so lovely to see his smile and delight going into nursery and his wonderful relationship with his one-on-one teacher. His speech has improved too which is amazing! Massive thank you to the staff at Mount Carmel for going above and beyond in making our son feel so included and comfortable in your setting.
L A
★★★★★
We are so pleased to have found Mount Carmel, we couldn't have wished for a better nursery to send our son to. He is always so excited to go and even asks if he can go to Mount Carmel at weekends too! He absolutely loves two members of staff in particular and we really hope that he is with them throughout his time at Mount Carmel next year too. We have been so impressed with the friendly and helpful staff; vast range of facilities; communication; and amazing activities that he does. It has meant so much to us that he is incredibly happy and confident at Mount Carmel and has made lots of friends. The Pearls staff and management are outstanding and we feel very fortunate that our son is at such an exceptional nursery.
Samantha N
★★★★★
Where do I start? My once clingy son has blossomed into a confident, chatty, kind and sensitive child who is curious, loves learning and loves socialising. The nurturing environment that Mount Carmel provides is exactly what you want for your child. The staff are so caring and diverse. Being a family-run business means that the care they provide for your child and for you as parents is second to none. We had a bereavement at the end of term and the support and empathy they provided my son *and even to us*, to help cope, was invaluable and will never be forgotten.
We are so thankful to Mount Carmel Kindergarten for everything they have done to help give my son the best start to life.
Mina H
★★★★★
I have tried five different nurseries in the St. Albans and Harpenden area with my three children over the last 13-years.
This nursery is by far the best and my favourite one. I see my child being happy and making good friendships in his group.
The staff are very professional and helpful. Every time I get some feedback from the day. This nursery is not just a happy play area but a place of effortless learning. I can’t recommend it more!
Josephine L
★★★★★
Our daughter joined Mount Carmel pre-school class in September this year and we have been absolutely thrilled with how quickly she settled in, and how she has developed within a short space of time.
Mount Carmel has an extremely warm and nurturing environment, the staff are clearly very experienced, and the mix of activities is impressive. We have been so impressed with every aspect of the nursery, and our daughter absolutely loves it there. Her confidence has come on leaps and bounds and has been so well supported by all the staff. She especially loves the outdoor walks, baking and "show and tell" days. We couldn't be happier, thank you all for looking after our daughter so well!
Kathryn C
★★★★★
I couldn't have found a more perfect nursery for my daughter to attend. The nursery has a genuine family feel and they have made us feel so welcome from the very first day. The facilities are outstanding and the activities my daughter gets to partake in, from magical woodland walks to baking, mean she is so excited to go in each day. She has been thoroughly supported in her learning and the progress she has made over the time she has been there is truly exceptional. She absolutely loves nursery and has grown so much in confidence over her time there. She is made to feel supported and cared for in all that she does at Mount Carmel and I can not thank them enough for the superb start she has had to her education. I only wish they ran a primary school too!
Sarah S
★★★★★
We have just had our third child and like the other two will be signing her up shortly! Our eldest has made fantastic progress especially in his language and social development where he was experiencing some delays prior to attending. Mount Carmel Kindergarten has always been so nurturing of him and supportive with our entire family, and I know our wider family are always impressed that the staff remember all our children's names. Having grown up in St Albans, I always wanted to send my children to Mount Carmel Kindergarten, and I am so glad I have had the opportunity to do so.
Lucy T
★★★★★
Very professionally led nursery, staff and management have great experience. Our children have been very happy there for day one.
Sebastian Q
★★★★★
Our daughter is so happy about attending Mount Carmel and never complains when it is a nursery day. The staff are very warm and friendly, and Kinder Lodge provides a modern, clean environment for learning with great outdoor space. We are so happy with the nursery!
Claire M
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is such a wonderful nursery. My daughter has been here since September and thoroughly enjoys it.
Every member of staff is totally professional while being kind and patient too.
There is such a lovely atmosphere at Mount Carmel it is the most welcoming and friendly place where children thrive.
Anna J
★★★★★
In my opinion Mount Carmel is an excellent nursery. It is run to a very high standard and is excellently managed. The staff are happy, inspiring, very caring, well trained and professional. The environment is very clean and is purpose built for a children's kindergarten. The activities provided are wide-ranging, very well thought out and educational through excellent play resources/materials and apparatus. The outside space is ideal and stimulating fro children. My children come to learn and have fun there.
Lucie A
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is a fantastic nursery. A beautiful cabin set in playing fields makes it a perfect setting and the children get to enjoy weekly country walks.
The staff are incredibly friendly, attentive and always so helpful. All three of my children have come to Mount Carmel and my two daughters were so sad to leave this amazing nursery.
My youngest started in September 2017 and refused to talk to anyone. The staff were very supportive and within weeks they had encouraged him to talk!
Now he won't stop talking to them. This is the best nursery in Hertfordshire!
N P
★★★★★
My daughter has been going to this nursery full time, Mon-Fri for quite sometime now.
Each day is different including country walks, show n tell and baking sessions. She really enjoys her art and classroom sessions and is very excited to talk about it at home. The nursery teachers are really caring and our daughter is very fond of every one of them.
They have very well planned holiday clubs which are provided in the same setting but a different environment.
She absolutely loves going there and really enjoys her day. Due to the nature of our jobs we had to move house quite often and this is the 4th nursery she has attended. We can say without hesitation that this is by far the best nursery she has attended and the one she loves the most.

We would definitely recommend the nursery to all of our friends and for our future children!
Sarbani P
★★★★★
Our son and now our daughter attended this nursery and we really couldn't be happier. The people are wonderful - friendly, caring and deeply committed to caring for and teaching the children in their care. My daughter loves going there and always has a smile on her face when she arrives and when she leaves. I couldn't recommend this place more highly!
Matt K
★★★★★
My eldest child started at Mount Carmel in September 2013, my second child is currently at Mount Carmel and my third child is due to start in October this year. From the time I first visited the nursery, I have been very impressed. They have a fantastic structure to the early year's education they offer. All the staff are incredibly attentive to every child, always very welcoming of every child on arrival.

The children all tend to settle in straight into an activity on arrival. They move rooms depending on the learning they are doing which is great to stimulate different types of learning. My children have always come home feeling energised by their day. The outdoor facilities they have are also fantastic. They have prepared my first two children superbly for school and developed in them, a great appetite for learning.
Nicola W
★★★★★
My daughter always comes back home happy. Staff very nice and always try to help. Highly recommend to everyone who looking for a kindergarten. Very clean and beautiful garden with many toys.
Katarzyna S
★★★★★
What a wonderful preschool! I cannot fault them and that is saying something because I am extremely picky when it comes to the care of my children! The staff are extremely experienced, nurturing and supportive. The facilities are excellent, activities are very stimulating and there is a really nice sense of community - like one big family. Parents are kept well informed and engaged in regular communication and weekly blogs. The overall management of the preschool is extremely professional, organised and consistent. My son really enjoys his time there and has excellent relationships with his teacher, support staff and his classmates. He has flourished in their care and is developing so well. I look forward to my younger son also attending once he is old enough!
Alison E
★★★★★
This nursery is really outstanding. My daughter was happy and at ease from day 1 and desperate to go there each day. The mornings are structured so she gets a variety of experience and knows what to be excited about each day e.g. country walk day, show and tell day. The staff are all excellent and know the children really well and adapt to suit their needs. I feel like this nursery is both a magical, fun place for my daughters and also excellent preparation for going to school next year. The communications are excellent too thanks to a fab system called Tapestry and weekly blog.
Hannah H
★★★★★
The nursery is set in a cosy cabin style cottage in playing fields. The care shown towards the child is very good.
The staff in the nursery are well grounded and professional. The nursery has helped improve the confidence in my child a great deal. Highly recommend the country walks and the baking sessions conducted in the nursery every week.
S D
★★★★★
I have two children, one of whom attended Mount Carmel Kindergarten in 2019 and the other one who is currently at Mount Carmel. I can honestly say it is an amazing kindergarten with outstanding childcare and support. I have a slightly unique perspective of Mount Carmel as I attended myself back in the late 1980s. I can honestly say my teacher is still as lovely and as humble today as she was then. I have very fond memories. Mount Carmel is a family run nursery and my teacher's daughter runs Sandpit House and her son runs Kinder Lodge. Both are really warm, kind and caring people and they have that family gene. I like how it is a family run business and how much love and care they extend to their children. They use a great family app to keep parents updated. The teachers use innovative ways to teach the kids. This year, ten children applied to the high school and all ten got in. It shows you the standard of teaching.
F J
★★★★★
My daughter absolutely enjoys going to Mount Carmel. All staff members are extremely professional and understand each child's needs and have a wonderful approach to children. The fact that all kids are engaged in learning activities and mentored and guided by teachers as they learn. By far the best kindergarten in St Albans.
Nelly G
★★★★★
Love this place. My daughter has always been happy, excited and speaks of the other children so highly. Their activities and visits from various members of the community are inspiring for young children. Their teachers offer a wealth of knowledge and experience to parents/carers for both academic and personal development alike. They are a family run nursery, Italians, well known for their love and compassion for children, especially when my daughter had medical toileting issues for about 7-8 months. Still, it was never an issue and made my life that bit easier - one less thing to worry about. They actively support independence in the children, enabling their transition to primary school that much easier. My daughter always came home and told me about the various tasks she could now do alone, especially now she could put her own coat on and do the zips! I cant fault them, they are professional and capable nursery providers. All the children's key developments are logged, in line with the nursery standards, most of it dated with evidence. I've never once looked back after dropping my daughter off or wondered how she was getting on during the day. When I collect her, she's playful, confident and enjoys her time there. Some of the language she uses astounds me sometimes, not all of that is learnt at home. Also - for those working parents, they offer full days and an entire summer holiday cover known as 'holiday club', each week is themed and packed full of super fun stuff. The nursery have excellent equipment/facilities, bouncy castles, face painting, scooter riding, water play - it's endless. The only problem is... you might not get a place, so enquire as early as possible.
Laura K
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is truly a magical and wonderful kindergarten to go to. It is like a home from home. The teachers are all so warm, friendly and nurturing. My son absolutely adores Mount Carmel and so do I. Not only are they there to help, support and care for your child but also for the parents too. They take time to help and guide you through your child's development and growing into little people. My son continues to blossom every day he goes there. I could not have wished for a better place to send him. It is the perfect place to be.
Sadie L
★★★★★
My son loves his time in the nursery. He is always excited to see his friends and play and even more excited and animated to share with us his stories at the dinner table. I love the nurseries blog which gives us a glimpse and documentation of the children's activities. I commend how the nursery is using the social media/technology. I love the photos and videos which I can keep and look back to when my son grows older. But most of all, I love how the nursery created an extended home to my son.

The staff are lovely and caring and the principal is like a mother to everyone. The nursery definitely affected my son's learning and growth positively.
M C
★★★★★
Both my children attended Mount Carmel and have absolutely loved it. It’s been a joy to see the keen go get ready in the mornings to go to nursery. The nursery has maintained an excellent balance of play/stimulation and learning. Their communication with parents and children has been spot on, even, or should I say especially, during difficult covid times their management has been excellent. The teachers are all caring and also very involved with the children. I could not have given my children a better pre-school that truly, gently does prepare them for what’s coming at ‘big school’. This is a magical place for children to spend their days away from home and truly is a home from home.
Rania H
★★★★★
If I want to write about our experience at Mount Carmel a book wouldn’t be enough!
Words can’t describe the nursery good enough.
We feel it as a second family to us, from, supportive to understanding but most importantly morals and ethos are of high standards. We love all the staff, none can be praised enough!
Thank you for everything.
Nancy T
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten felt like home from home from day one.
The teachers are incredibly warm and nurturing and the environment is well equipped and stimulating. They have a standout approach to teaching through their structured curriculum across all areas of learning. My daughter has flourished at Mount Carmel and I couldn't recommend them highly enough!
Rachel R
★★★★
We have been extremely lucky to have my daughter attend Mount Carmel (she is now in her second year) and could not have asked for a better nursery. This is a family business and you can really tell that people who work there are passionate about childcare and truly care.

The activities that the kids get involved with are varied and thoroughly planned out - here they have cookery lessons, petting zoo visits and bouncy castle parties.

My daughter loves it there and I expect she’ll be really sad when the time comes to move onto big girl school.
Anna P
★★★★★
Great nursery, our son has thoroughly enjoyed his first year there, they have helped him immeasurably in his first year, helping him to make friends and we are looking forward to him enjoying his second year there. The Staff are communicative and supportive and there is a real community feel to the place, it is clean and has great facilities.
Damon P
★★★★★
All three of my children has attended Mount Carmel Kindergarten and all have loved it. It is a truly caring environment, giving each child the opportunity to develop and grow. The structured day means my son knows what to expect and prepares him for his 'big school'. After our first child attended, there was never any doubt the others would too.
Rosalind I
★★★★★
We could not be happier with our choice of school for our preschooler. She started attending Mount Carmel Kindergarten this year and she loves her teachers and settled very smoothly. We appreciate a very warm welcoming atmosphere, very attentive staff. You can see how well our girl is developing and how much fun she is having there - the variety of experiences she is having is exceptional.
Maria J
★★★★★
My husband and I are very satisfied with the care and support from the lovely team at Mount Carmel Kindergarten. My son runs in now and obviously loves his afternoons there.
Punam P
★★★★★
I have been delighted by the very high standard of care and development the team at Mount Carmel have provided our daughter. The nurturing and development has seen our daughter thrive during her time there and we are so grateful. The management and their staff always go the extra mile and from Nativity play at Christmas through seasonal activities to their legendary sports day, our daughter is happy to go in and comes home full of spirit from the new days learning and activities. I would be happy to recommend Mount Carmel to any of our friends and associates who wish their child to receive first-class development and pastoral care. The option of holiday club service they provide is an added bonus and provides our daughter with different activities and continuation of learning and development in a fun and safe environment.
Ryan F
★★★★★
Enrolling our child here has been an incredible decision. The nurturing environment, caring staff and thoughtful curriculum have exceeded our expectations and our daughter has blossomed in every aspect. Highly recommended for any parent seeking a nurturing start for their child.
Fiona L
★★★★★
Our son really enjoys the Kinder Lodge. He's always looking forward to going to the nursery. We like the activities kids do at nursery, which covers all their physical, mental and emotional developments.
I especially like the gym and cooking sessions they have introduced at this age which make them aware of life's important things. The staff are really helpful and caring. They take good care of our son. I'd highly recommend this nursery.
Kishor S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel has been a positive experience for my children as well as us as parents. It is so reassuring to see them form such special friendships and flourish into happy, confident children that thoroughly enjoying going to nursery. My kids settled very quickly at the setting because the staff are all so lovely and nurturing. They’re excellent and we are going to really miss the Mount Carmel family when it is time to say goodbye.
Candice H
★★★★★
Mount Carmel provides a warm, friendly environment. It's a home from home. The carers offer a wide range of activities and prepare children well for starting school.
Ellie C
★★★★★
My 3 years old daughter settled in so easily from he very first day at Mount Carmel. As a bilingual child who predominately spoke Italian prior to starting nursery, her English improved significantly within weeks of starting at Mount Carmel. They have promoted her independence in many aspects of her daily life and she looks forward to the many diverse activities that are on offer at Mount Carmel every day. We could not recommend Mount Carmel highly enough!
D M
★★★★★
Feel so lucky to have our son at Mount Carmel. Our son absolutely loves it at MCK. Amazing nursery all around!
Jennifer P
★★★★★
The indoor and outdoor spaces are great, enough activities to keep the children entertained while learning. The staff is very supportive. Thank you for taking such good care of our child, she looks happy so we are happy.
A H
★★★★★
Best nursery imaginable!
My son started at Mount Carmel as a shy little boy, uncertain of being around other children, although he was attending another ‘outstanding’ St Albans nursery previously. Only a few weeks into his time at Mount Carmel, he was a completely changed boy. He now has a full group of friends who he adores, and this is all due to the support and set up of this wonderful nursery.
I couldn’t fault Mount Carmel in any way. Every day the children do a new activity which is always waiting for parents on collection, including cooking which my son loves. The staff are exceptionally friendly and everything is effortlessly organised. I would not hesitate to recommend this nursery
N B
★★★★★
A wonderful nurturing nursery where my son has flourished. I just hope his new school can meet the extremely high standards that Mount Carmel Kindergarten has set. I would make sure any new parents have Mount Carmel Kindergarten as top of their list when looking for a nursery.
Kate P
★★★★★
Fantastic nursery, superb organisation and delightful staff.
Andrew M
★★★★★
Our son has been exceptionally happy at Mount Carmel Kindergarten. He's an active child and the space has been really great for him - both outdoors, where he enjoys playing on climbing apparatus, or with sand or water and indoors, where the children move around different classrooms and also have the benefit of a big gym to play in. The teachers are professional and highly skilled. They regularly update our child's progress via their online Tapestry system and parents can leave comments, too. The management is consistent and there is always a friendly face to welcome children in. Parents can accompany their child into the classroom to see which activities they will be doing. Children in the pre-school classes are encouraged to meet and exceed early years related targets through play, singing, acting, reading time and adult-led activities such as counting with beads or counters, recognising sounds through phonics and pencil control. I don't think our son could have had a better start.
Edward B
★★★★★
We could not have found a more wonderful nursery for our son to spend his pre-school years. Mount Carmel is extremely well run, with a strong family ethos. Each child is greeted by name as they arrive with big smiles and are made to feel so special. Staff are always accessible to answer questions. The app is fantastic - the photos and messages give us such a lovely insight into our son's day. Overall Mount Carmel is a wonderful, nurturing, stimulating nursery with caring staff who take an interest in every child. We would not hesitate to recommend Mount Carmel!
Naz
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is a wonderful nurturing place. Highly recommend.
Wonderful teachers and cannot fault a thing.
Andrew J
★★★★★
My grandaughter has attended this nursery for more than two years. The staff are excellent with the children and the management is outstanding. This nursery is highly organised and always immaculate at all times. I am thoroughly amazed at the level of learning, my grandaughter's ability to patiently listen and learn is superb, all since attending nursery. She has formed a wonderful circle of friends which such lovely, polite children highly recommended.
Y A
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is an outstanding nursery with so many opportunities for pre-school children to learn and develop in. Children are able to move around the nursery doing different activities in different rooms with excellent indoor and outdoor facilities to use and explore all year round. The staff are exceptional, friendly, enthusiastic and a credit to the establishment. My two children have loved every second here over the last 4 years. 5*.
Lucy B
★★★★★
We have been fortunate enough to have experienced the nursery settings at another branch as well as Sandpit House, and both have been excellent. The teachers are always so friendly and nurturing. It has been so lovely and reassuring to see our children flourish into the happy, independent little people they are now. Thank you to everyone at Mount Carmel, you guys are truly amazing!
Candice H
★★★★★
Our son has been at Mount Carmel for his pre-school year and he absolutely loves it. The passionate and experienced staff provide excellent support and opportunities for development. There is a superb balance of education and play and the environment is ideal for kids to learn. We've seen a real improvement in his academic and social development and feel he is more than ready for school as well as making some really good friendships. The teachers also provide sincere and targeted feedback both formally and informally through their app.
Andrew C
★★★★★
Mount Carmel has been wonderful for my son, he throughly enjoys his time there and I always feel secure knowing he is safe and well cared for.
Laura O
★★★★★
Kinder Lodge was my only consideration when looking for a nursery for my children. It is set in a secure, secluded environment with ample beautiful surroundings for my child to go on a weekly woodland walk. The staff are highly qualified and were accommodating to my child's specific needs. The setting itself is to a high specification and well organised. My first thoughts when having a personal guided tour was that it was beautifully and uniquely laid out and had really considered everything including sheltered outdoor space for my children to play under if it rains. My child especially enjoys the singing time at the end of each day. I cannot recommend this nursery enough as my children truly flourished and thrived whilst spending two years here.
C B
★★★★★
Home from home, this is Mount Carmel for my family, and I am sure for many families over the years! The warm family ethos and safe environment is enhanced by staff, including management, facilities, resources, activities, cleanliness and value for money. I will like to add prompt communication and close corroboration with parents. Also, flexibility and sensitive adjustments to individual child needs to enable them to thrive emotionally while achieving skills for life.
Our son couldn't be happier elsewhere!
Thank you!
I G
★★★★★
I was very anxious about my daughter starting nursery, however, I needn't have been as Mount Carmel have been amazing. The staff are wonderful and my daughter's teacher is just so caring and kind. All I want is for my daughter to be safe and happy and she truly is at Mount Carmel. Not only that but they are preparing her so well for school. I can't recommend them enough.
Clare G
★★★★★
Fantastic nursery setting and amazing staff. Both my boys have attended. My second son is always excited to go to nursery and has grown in confidence during his time here thanks to all the wonderful staff and experiences he has had.
He will be leaving in September very prepared for big school like his big brother. Thank you Mount Carmel Kindergarten!
D S
★★★★★
Many thanks from the heart for all your hard work, love, dedication, patience with the children, and for keeping personal belongings in order, caring when were not feeling well, and making every day a fun environment to go to.
Mount Carmel Kindergarten and all the lovely staff are part of my daughter's development and 1st stage in life, supporting her through all areas of development especially language, speech and physical development.
A big thank you to all the team!
Jonathan L
★★★★★
All 3 of my children have greatly enjoyed their time at Mount Carmel. It is fun and friendly but sets them up well for school with separate ‘lessons’. My son is particularly enjoying his weekly cookery at the moment

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the nursery.
Sarah O
★★★★★
I have used 4 different child care providers across two countries and Mount Carmel has the best combination of warmth, care, safety and education that I have seen. My daughter has just started her second term and is learning and growing exceptionally under the support and care provided by Mount Carmel. She loves the activities provided and I feel comfortable that she is always stimulated and exposed to new experiences as well as old routines to help her feel secure. I regularly recommend Mount Carmel to friends and have no hesitation doing so here too.
Elizabeth B
★★★★★
For a nursery, Mount Carmel is just about as good as it gets, looking like a swiss ski chalet from the outside, the same good feeling runs through the building, functional purpose-built
R S
★★★★★
We are so grateful to Mount Carmel Kindergarten for providing a wonderful pre-school setting for our daughter. She has grown in confidence, made new friends and enjoys a huge variety of activities such as cooking and crafts. At the end of each day, she always chats excitedly about her experiences. Regular detailed feedback, approachable staff, fantastic facilities and garden, a fun holiday club and well-planned and resourced sessions, ensure children are engaged and happy.
A H
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is a wonderful nursery. A truly remarkable place. My daughter had never attended nursery before, and we had recently moved here from abroad when - at two and a half - she started at Mount Carmel. I was extremely worried, given the huge change of life I was putting her through. But her teacher and all the staff welcomed her in all possible ways, and in only a few days she settled in and was smiling every day when I dropped her off. This made our transition into a new life in England much easier, and more special. Now, a little over a year later, my daughter is still extremely happy. And I have seen her progress in so many ways - from her English language (she is multilingual), to her artwork and singing, to her social skills. It is hard to describe such a special place in a few words, but I would definitely recommend Mount Carmel not only for being a top quality nursery but for being able to provide a real "home away from home" environment to the children.
Barbara
★★★★★
We are extremely happy - love Mount Carmel, very professional, great with children and loved the Nativity. Love the new centre, Sandpit House. The Family App is great. A wonderful community.
Robert C
★★★★★
Our son has just completed a year at Mount Carmel Kindergarten in the afternoon group - children aged 2-3. His class and both teachers/leaders have been consistent throughout the year which has really helped him to settle and thrive. The children start in the same room each day and they have a 'carousel' approach - the children move around the nursery in their group and with their teachers into the art room or the large gym or into the large outdoor play garden. The welcome at the door from the nursery manager each day is always bright and cheerful and parents are welcomed in to accompany their child into the room - this has also helped our child settle more quickly. Our child has made many friends and loves counting and recognising colours and his name. We receive feedback after every session and we love Tapestry - an online password protected learning journey with photos. Overall - friendly and professional. One of the best, if not the best, in St Albans in our opinion.
Ren B
★★★★★
We are very impressed with our family's experience of Mount Carmel Kindergarten - Sandpit House so far, our daughter settled in very quickly and looks forward to attending each day. What has particularly impressed us is the rapid improvement of our daughter's language and communication skills, including corrected pronunciation of certain words. We really appreciate that teachers take time at the end of each day to speak to each parent about their children, and we thoroughly enjoy the updates and photos via the parents' app. It feels like a very special place and we can relax in the knowledge that our daughter is being well looked after and nurtured each day. We believe it is the perfect environment for her before starting school and we are looking forward to seeing how she continues to learn and develop.
Lauren H
★★★★★
It has been wonderful. You have done such a good job settling my daughter during a difficult time for her and she never wants to leave in the evening. We are seeing her develop and grow each week and are so proud of her and are therefore incredibly grateful to you. The artwork she brings home is going into her memory box and I am impressed at how creative you are in coming up with activities.
G T
★★★★★
We have been super impressed with Mount Karmel Kindergarten since our son joined in September. It is a fun, bright and positive environment that provides an excellent backdrop for effective learning and development. The teaching staff are enthusiastic, professional, nurturing and caring and we would highly recommend Mount Karmel Kindergarten to others.
T B
★★★★★
Our son has additional needs which only became apparent at 30 months, a few months before his planned Mount Carmel start date. It was a big surprise and adjustment for our family. We approached Mount Carmel and were overwhelmed by their welcoming and accepting response. This nursery is an absolute treasure. Our son is cared for by a team of professionals who feel more like an extended family. The nursery is spotless, warm and welcoming, and incredibly well - organised. Prompt updates on progress, daily meet and greet updates, a personal call and even a home visit...they really do it all. They have been open to working with specialist professionals, and positively adopting additional strategies which our son needs to enable him to thrive. It makes the choice of prep school difficult for us as parents because we are looking for the next environment that will continue to create the happy, secure, nurturing and inclusive environment which our son has become accustomed to at Mount Carmel.
Adele
★★★★★
My son started nursery when he turned three years old and we were worried how well he would settle in as he was home with me before hand. We really didn't need to worry other than being tired, he was happy, talking about his adventures with friends and his teacher. By the third week he cried when it was time to go home! The use of tapestry software is excellent too, you can instantly see what they have been up to and their progress academically. Best nursery in town in my opinion.
Zdenka S
★★★★★
My daughter had the most wonderful time at Mount Carmel Kindergarten and I was excited for my son to start this year. They are kind, nurturing, understanding, patient and caring. The experience they provide to children and parents is second to none and I just wish all children could benefit. The facilities are diverse, entertaining and interesting. I am amazed by what my children learn at such a young age. When I have a normal parent wobble about either child, I have been able to talk to their teachers and they have reassured me and given me constructive feedback.
Ginny T
★★★★★
Extremely pleased! Very happy with everything so far. Lovely team, and very good and caring teachers.
Banu R
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is an outstanding nursery. My daughter is currently in her second year and my youngest is due to start in September.

I couldn’t recommend this nursery/pre-school highly enough. They are the perfect combination of professional and caring.

Throughout our two year experience so far all of the teaching staff have been exceptional. I receive updates on my daughter's developmental achievements and she loves telling me about the pictures they send home to summarise her day.

She settled straight away as their confident staffing team made her feel safe and loved. The facilities are exceptional. The rooms that the children rotate around mean that they never get bored (library, art room, gym, garden ect).

Every morning my daughter wakes up and asks if it’s a school day in hope. I couldn’t ask for more.
Nicole S
★★★★★
I have been consistently impressed by the quality of education provided by Mount Carmel. My son and daughter both thrived here and my daughter always welcomes the chance to come back and visit even after going to big school. My son still attends Mount Carmel and enjoys every minute here! There are regular baking, woodland walks and singing sessions. My children love the staff here and so do we!
Charley P
★★★★★
My daughter joined Mount Carmel Kindergarten in September. She settled in so quickly and absolutely loves attending every afternoon. I have been really impressed with the staff and excellent facilities and have no hesitation in recommending the nursery to other families.
J L
★★★★★
Such a wonderful nursery, I worship everyone there. All the management team and teachers are so well trained, understanding and kind. I cannot fault the environment, the experiences my children have had and continue to have. The communication is regular, the encouragement given to the children to be independent whilst still having cuddles when needed and all whilst prepping them for school life so wonderfully. I never hesitate in dropping in the children off and I am so grateful for the understanding and kindness shown to me as a parent of three small children. I have also benefitted from sound advice and support and I know my children are in the best possible hands. We will miss you all so much when it's time to move on.
H J
★★★★★
I am over the moon with Mount Carmel, from the day my son started he has absolutely loved it. The staff are so kind and caring, and their facilities are fantastic. He has learnt so much and made some great friends, I will 100% be putting his little sister on the list to join.
L C
★★★★★
Outstanding care is provided to my child at Mount Carmel. She attends all day sessions, sometimes when I pick her up in the evening she's the last one there but she is never happy to leave as the staff are always engaged ensuring that she is happy and has someone to play games with. She has become more independent through their nurturing care and she enjoys learning new things which is based on her learning needs. Encouraged but never made to feel that they are under achieving. To sum up a fantastic nursery providing excellent care!
Michelle T
★★★★★
My daughter joined Mount Carmel in the September after her 2nd birthday. It was a tough decision to move her away from a childminder with whom she has a very close bond. What can I say? We haven't looked back! She settled instantly and the team and facilities at Mount Carmel are faultless.
In these uncertain times, the Mount Carmel approach to the children is a breath of fresh air. Whilst carefully and thoughtfully balancing risk, they input optimism, positivity and fun. Mount Carmel is an institution in the St. Albans area for a good reason, I recommend this place to everyone I know!
Hayley M
★★★★★
We have been beyond impressed with MCK since starting this September and truly believe it is one of the best childcare settings of its generation. It is incredibly well run and to an exceptional standard - it is clear that each aspect has been informed by and perfected over years of experience. We love how the terms, weeks and days are structured according to the theme, which are then explored through the different rooms of the kindergarten with the fun of learning being at the heart of the activities. The staff are excellent, highly attuned to each child's personal development, very caring and well presented. You feel supported as a parent whether it is with potty training, healthy eating, good manners and/or general behaviour. Communication with parents (both in-person and via the fantastic Famly app) is frequent, proactive and of high quality. It has been a joy to see how much our son adores kindergarten and the ways in which he has flourished in just a couple of months.
Alexandra A
★★★★★
Both my children have attended Mount Carmel Kindergarten from the ages of 2-5. I have attended my youngest sons last Christmas nativity play today which was fantastic. It really is a wonderful place and I will be sad when we leave next year. The staff are kind, helpful and enthusiastic. My son loves baking on a Friday and making soup, bread and sausage rolls are his favourites. Holiday club and extended opening hours have made the return to work easier and the holidays, not such a drama. They particularly love the scooter racing and water play in the summer at holiday club. Communication home is great with weekly blogs and timely reminders about events coming up. The teachers always provide feedback on your child's progress and take time to talk to you. I am looking forward to the sports day and finally the graduation in the summer term. As a local family run nursery with over 30 years experience in childcare, it really is a wonderful place.
Carrie S
★★★★★
Both our daughters have attended Mount Carmel Kindergarten - Kinder Lodge in consecutive years and between them they have had three teachers between the four years. Every teacher has been wonderful, nurturing, kind and full of energy. They communicate with me all of the time, sending updates on the girls and photos, which I have loved. The daily activities are varied and fun; cooking, country walks, sand and water play in their lovely garden, games in the gym, painting etc. I love that each term has structure and a theme and I’ve been able to see each of our daughters grow in abundance as their time there goes on, both in confidence and educationally. I have always felt so at ease dropping them off in a morning.

My eldest daughter is now in reception and she is extremely comfortable and confident in this environment, with a great understanding of the early years of education (phonics, name spelling etc.) because Mount Carmel Kindergarten - Kinder Lodge helped prepare her so well! Thank you!
A W
★★★★★
This is, put simply, one of the best nurseries in the country. Their teachers offer a wealth of knowledge and experience to parents/carers for both academic and personal development alike. A family runs this nursery and the staff and pupils are simply an extension of that. What we really like is that they fully support the children to become confident and independent. This is imperative if our pre-schoolers are to make an easy transition into primary school. I can’t fault them. All the children's key developments are logged, in line with the nursery standards, most of it dated with evidence which parents are able to view via a phone application. The learning platform enables parents and staff alike to make comments and communicate about the children’s learning directly and in a timely fashion. This nursery is at the forefront of technology, they video keys events and write weekly blogs aimed at keeping parents informed of all the otherwise precious moments we would miss.
David K
★★★★★
A wonderful nursery with staff who are warm, engaging and nurturing. My son has progressed already since starting in September. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this kindergarten.
Lucy S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is an absolutely fantastic setting. My daughter since attending transformed from apprehensive and nervous on her first day to waking up and asking if she can go to nursery, even on the weekend! She has improved both academically and socially since attending, developing an excellent vocabulary and a good set of friends. The nursery provides an excellent setting for early years education. The staff are friendly, from welcoming you as you drop off your child to collection and if needed get in touch quickly if you have any worries or concerns. My wife and I could not recommend this nursery enough.
Christopher B
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is the most exceptional nursery school and pre-school. It is a joy to drop our children off, knowing their days will be filled with exciting and stimulating activities. Cooking day is, of course, a favourite but they also love getting stuck in with the creative art activities, inventive building challenges, singing time and the team games they play outside and in the gym. Our boys also love to recreate at home the puppet shows they are treated to whilst at nursery. The teachers and leadership team clearly know how to best create a fun and engaging learning environment for two to four year olds. But, best of all, the teachers genuinely care about the children. They know how to get each of our (very different in personality) boys excited, focussed, motivated, happy and feeling confident, safe and loved. In return and the highest praise we can give to MCK the teachers are absolutely adored by our boys (and us, as parents).
Kate C
★★★★★
I cannot recommend Mount Carmel Kindergarten enough, everyone is so friendly and caring towards the children. It is a very nurturing environment, staff attend to each individual child’s needs. My son has settled in very well and always comes running out with a big smile.
My eldest son attended Mount Carmel Kindergarten and has recently started primary school. I believe Mount Carmel Kindergarten prepared him really well for the transition.
Amy K
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is an outstanding kindergarten.
It really has provided our daughters with the key skills needed to start full-time school.
From how the school is managed to the wonderful teachers.
The children come out so excited about their day. Growing in confidence and love of learning.
This is the place you want your children to go if you want them to have an excellent introduction into learning.
Without a doubt, the best kindergarten in St Albans.
J P
★★★★★
Amazing place with caring staff. My son truly enjoys attending the nursery and my wife and I cannot be happier than we are with the care and the level of attention he receives daily.
Fabio G
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is a fantastic nursery for my two children. The staff always go the extra mile to ensure my children are well looked after, entertained and nurtured.
I particularly enjoyed the nativity play which they have every year which is on a real stage.
I would recommend this nursery to all my friends with pre-school children.
Cristina B
★★★★★
This will be our daughter's second year with Mount Carmel Kindergarten. Sandpit House feels like home to our daughter and the staff like family! Our daughter was excited to return, we would always recommend Mount Carmel to any families looking for a nurturing learning environment for their little ones.
Jennifer C
★★★★★
After thorough research of the nurseries in St Albans, I decided to send our children to Mount Carmel. I cannot recommend Mount Carmel highly enough. I would summarise my reasons for this as follow:

1. The facilities are purpose built in a beautiful green area. They are perfectly suited to the needs of the children;
2. The staff are incredibly helpful, caring, friendly and experienced. They are always happy to help and assist with expert educational guidance whenever needed;
3. Regular updates with weekly blogs, newsletters, parent consultations, action photos and individual reports via Tapestry;
4. The nursery is brilliantly managed and organised, with structured activities provided throughout the week. If you require, extra private tuition is also available, which can be very useful for private school entrance test preparation; and
5. Most importantly, the children at Mount Carmel are genuinely happy and their potential and talents are encouraged, stimulated and nurtured.
Flavia L-M
★★★★★
Amazing staff with so much heart and caring mindset. It’s wonderful seeing our daughter get excited about going to pre-school here. The teachers really make an effort to engage the kids and develop them in a very individualised way. The management is really committed to providing a safe, fun, and loving environment and we’re very thankful to the whole team.
D S
★★★★★
We are very happy with Mount Carmel Kindergarten and are so thankful that we were able to get a place for our son a few months ago. From day one we noticed a big difference in him compared to how he was at previous nurseries. He runs in with a big smile and always comes home happy and wants to keep playing, he excitedly tells us what he did on the day and he bonded really well with the teachers and staff. We also love the app, it's nice to see photos and be able to communicate with his teachers. Thanks so much for looking after him so well!
Angelika M
★★★★★
We have been very impressed with Mount Carmel since our son started in September. Such a positive and welcoming vibe with a real home-from-home feel, that you don't get with most nursery settings. Our son has really started to shine and we often find him singing nursery songs and talking to us about what he has been doing there. We are looking forward to watching him grow and learn with the help of his lovely teachers.
Louise A
★★★★★
We are thrilled with the set-up at Mount Carmel and how well our daughter has settled in. The facilities are fantastic and all staff have been welcoming and helpful. The parent app is wonderful for being able to keep in touch and see what our daughter has been up to in the day. We are so happy so far and would wholeheartedly recommend.
L P
★★★★★
My daughter has been attending Mount Carmel for two years.The progress may daughter has made is outstanding. Her confidence and communication along with the ability to listen and learn. They constantly plan different activities for the children making the environment fun and exciting. This family run business feels like a family a second home. My daughter loves attending and I can view what she gets up to on Tapestry and reading her weekly blog. The grounds are immaculate and the staff are excellent and professional.
Natasha V
★★★★★
Since joining Mount Carmel our daughter has changed so much and is truly thriving at the nursery. In just three months the amount of confidence and personality she’s developed and grown is incredible.
Every week she loves getting her show and tell ready and looks forward to the woodland walks. She’s excited to tell us about her day and the fun she’s had and will proudly show us the baked treat she made that week!
Each staff member is welcoming, friendly and will always take the time to talk about our daughter’s day. I’m confident my daughter will be ready to start school later this year. This couldn’t be possible without the supportive and engaging environment alongside the educational and creative activities provided.
I’m glad to have chosen Mount Carmel and would highly recommend the nursery.
H R
★★★★★
I have now had 3 children attend Mount Carmel over the last 10 years and the experience on each occasion has been excellent. They give your children the best possible start to their education in a safe and caring environment. I would strongly recommend Mount Carmel to anyone.
Adam H
★★★★★
I could not ask for a better nursery for my daughter. She absolutely loves it at Mount Carmel and cried at weekends when I say it's not a nursery day, if that is not a testament to how fab a nursery is then I don't know what is! A huge thank you to all the staff for creating such a loving and caring environment. My daughter's development has been amazing and I can see the growth and changes in her on a daily basis. The range of activities really gives children the exposure they need to develop. It's truly a home away from home.
B A
★★★★★
It is difficult to find the words to describe how enriching and positive my daughter’s time at Mount Carmel has been. Every day her teachers are cheery and positive and provide so many nurturing and inspiring activities that instil a passion for learning and playing, socialising and creating. They inspire the children, giving them the belief to grow into confident little thinkers, expressive and with such creativity too. We couldn’t be happier to be a part of the Mount Carmel legacy.
E H
A
A
★★★★★
I have sent my children to a different nursery before sending my youngest to Mount Carmel Kindergarten. I was concerned about the move as I was very happy with the nursery my children were at. I shouldn't have been as Mount Carmel is an amazing pre-school. The staff are superb, getting to know the children well and very quickly. The children do lots of different activities including country walks and cooking lessons. The actual nursery/pre school building itself is magical and immaculately presented. My little boy could not be happier with Mount Carmel Kindergarten and neither could I.
Stephanie S
★★★★★
This is my third child to attend Mount Carmel. It was important to me that he got to have the “Mount Carmel” experience just like his siblings. The facilities, the activities, the care and the entire experience can’t be matched. He’s thriving and so happy to attend each session. He settled immediately. There’s no push to learn, it’s at your child’s own pace. But going from a child who showed no interest “in learning” he’s quickly adapted to start to pick up keys skills. There is plenty to keep the children busy indoors and outdoors. He loves going out for walks, he loves assemblies, he loves singing time and he’s making new friends. It’s the pre-school nativity this week and it’s so special, just like sports day and graduation in July! What I loved about Mount Carmel 7 years ago still applies today. The attention to making sure the nursery and pre school experience is as good as it can be is unrivalled in the area. Highly recommend.
Carol M
★★★★★
We are extremely pleased with Mount Carmel across the board. The communication is great, our son is looking forward to going every day. They provide a great environment to play and learn in, with the perfect balance of being friendly while remaining strict on core values.
C D
★★★★★
I was and still am impressed by the professionalism, teaching standards and enthusiasm the staff at Mount Carmel have. They give us so much confidence that our kids are safe, happy and stimulated when we leave them at the nursery. We have come to an end of 2 years with Mount Carmel and are very proud of what our child has achieved and how well he is prepared to join primary school. The nursery puts extra effort to be outstanding from using the online system Tapestry to provide us with feedback and development of our child, to bakery sessions, sports day and even a proper graduation with proper mortar hats and certificates.
Ana F
★★★★★
All of the staff are amazing and extremely nurturing.
I myself came to this playgroup over 30 years ago and now my daughter is enjoying it as much as I did - which is lovely to see! She loves her days spent there and is progressing well and making great friends.
G T S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten has been giving my child an amazing opportunity to develop his strengths and knowledge about the surrounding world. Very supportive and always willing to help staff. Warm, responsive, friendly environment that makes my child want to go to nursery. I could not imagine a better nursery for my son.
Ewa Z
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is definitely the best nursery around in my opinion and is best by far. From the very first moment we stepped outside the nursery we had a very good feeling about it. You will be greeted by the smiley face of one of the managers who are always ready to answer any questions you might have and no matter how silly you think it is, nothing is too much for them. Our daughter loves Mount Carmel and is looking forward to the next day, disappointed that she can't go weekends!
Sonja S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel provides nothing but exceptional care in a nurturing environment with superb early years education. Not only has our son's academic and personal development come along tenfold, but he is also always happy and excited to attend. Simply put, it is the best independent nursery in Hertfordshire!
Claire D
★★★★★
I love Mount Carmel Kindergarten, my daughter who does 2 afternoons looks forward to going each week, she loves her teachers and loves telling me what she has done each time she goes. All the staff are lovely and friendly and you are always made to feel welcome. You feel relaxed and at ease leaving your child at Mount Carmel as it has a very homely atmosphere. I would 100% recommend to all my friends and family, it's a wonderful place for any child to start their education.
Kate B
★★★★★
We had some reticence in taking our son out of his close, loving and pastoral child-minder environment, but wanted to prepare him for school, Mount Carmel consistently exceeds all expectations. A wonderful balance of love, care and structure. Our child has flourished at Mount Carmel and is delighted to go every day. It's a true gem!
Paul M
★★★★★
Fantastic nursery with amazing facilities for the children to enjoy in a very caring and safe environment. My son has settled in well, really enjoys going and has made special bonds with the fantastic staff and all his class friends. He really enjoys all the fun learning activities, keep up the great work!
Danica S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is absolutely the best daycare....by far! My daughter fell in love with the place on her first visit. They have weekly blogs and newsletters to keep the parents informed of the various activities performed during the week and how well the children enjoyed which is amazing. My daughter's vocabulary and confidence has boosted tremendously since she joined the nursery.

The children are also engaged in various activities to get them prepared for their transition to primary school such as phonics, maths, drawing and handwriting skills. One of the things I love the most is the quiet location of the nursery which is surrounded by green playfields away from the main roads and traffic!! Overall, I cannot recommend this nursery highly enough!!
Shalini D
★★★★★
Our son has had a wonderful time at Mount Carmel. He’s learnt, been loved and laughed. We can’t thank the staff enough for their care, growth and ongoing nurturing.
We have seen our child grow into the happy, confident, smart and curious adventurer that he is. He’s been constantly guided to become the best version of himself, which we can’t thank the staff at Mount Carmel enough for.
J T
★★★★★
We moved our daughter to Mount Carmel last year from another day care setting and we are really, really pleased with it. Her confidence has grown and she absolutely loves it. They have done so many interesting things, and each child is treated very much as an individual. Highly recommended.
Amanda L
★★★★★
My 2 daughters attended Mount Carmel 25 + years ago and now my Grandson, goes there. The love and care is the same now as it was then, even though the nursery is a lot larger. When I first visited the premises (which was new to me) I loved it, a mini school with a fantastic outside play area of off the classrooms, but also the weekly Woodland Walks in the field beyond. The children are all treated with respect and their individual needs are recognised by the staff. They are offered all sorts of opportunities that other nurseries are unable to offer. The way the nursery operates also prepares the children for Infant School - which can be a big shock. My Grandson loves it there and loves the staff. A big bonus is also the holiday camps which are run in each holiday, where they do many fun things with activities geared to the season, but it's in an environment the children are used to. I will be sad when he leaves in July 2016 and look forward to taking my next grandchild there.
Sharon A
★★★★★
Since my child joined Mount Carmel, he has never been happier. From it's safe and stunning premises, to the staff who run it, my son felt at home at Mount Carmel. He found it easy to make friends through the nurseries structured set up which had a massive effect on his confidence and wellbeing. When he first joined, I was concerned whether he would fit in, but all the staff welcomed him in and introduced him to the staff and the children to get him settled straight away. Since then, he has never looked back and loves coming to Mount Carmel.
Natasha L
★★★★★
We have been, and continue to be, extremely happy with our daughter's time at Mount Carmel. It is an incredibly special place -a home from home. My eldest daughter went to Mount Carmel too and absolutely loved it. The staff are caring, nurturing and kind and prepare the children so well for their first years at school. We couldn't recommend it highly enough!
Hannah W
★★★★★
Every morning that our daughter attends Mount Carmel she can’t get out of the car and in through the door fast enough! We are welcomed every day by the wonderful staff who greet our daughter by name and remember everything about her. We love the variety of activities that the children get involved in, and the updates that get shared via the app. In just a few short weeks since our daughter started, we can tell that Mount Carmel is going to be a really special part of our lives. Thank you to all the amazing staff.
Hannah A
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is truly in its own league, so wonderful and nurturing and we are so happy that both our children attended this nursery. Our daughter went to Kinder Lodge for two years, loved it every day and was disappointed she could not go at weekends too. They did absolute wonders with her confidence. She walked in a shy girl on her first day and left a leader full of confidence reaching for the stars. Our son is there now in his second year, at Sandpit House. Same as his sister, he really enjoys his time spent at Mount Carmel and comes home buzzing every day full of stories that have happened that day and excited to show us the art he has created. He especially loves their cooking sessions and their country walks. All staff members are amazing and very caring.
Sonja S
★★★★★
I cannot fault this nursery, it is truly unparalleled. The building is purpose-built and spotless. The days are planned meticulously and the children are nurtured and encouraged and taught from day 1. The staff have listened to all my concerns and helped me where possible, giving advise and supporting me as a parent. My son's confidence has come on leaps and bounds and he has made some wonderful friends.
The experiences Mount Carmel provide and teaching and environment are just wonderful. I also so pleased I found this nursery and have been lucky enough to have a place. I will be sending my two younger children also for what is such a special nursery and pre-school experience. I can't thank the management and teaching staff enough.
Helen J
★★★★★
We are extremely fortunate to have our daughter attend Mount Carmel Kindergarten - Kinder Lodge. The facilities are second to none, staff are experienced, welcoming and friendly, giving us regular updates on our child’s progress and development. Activities go beyond what one would expect from a nursery - everything from weekly cooking lessons, to visits from a petting zoo, to pumpkin carving, to scooter racing, it's simply outstanding. The nursery’s structured routine and unique uniform prepares children well for starting school. We’ve had the most wonderful experience with both our eldest and our youngest child at Mount Carmel and could not recommend this nursery enough.
Anna F
★★★★★
The nursery has exceeded all of our expectations, despite the fact that we had very high hopes from the start as all of our friends highly recommended it when our son was just born. Our son comes back home truly happy and calm every single day (with visible difference from all our previous childcare experiences) which we believe is down to exceptional care, attention and the right balance of the stimulating environment. He seems to be thriving from a variety of activities and social interaction, his confidence levels have clearly improved. I feel the nursery is run with a lot of passion where every member is caring and loves their job. My little boy has a very good connection with his key teacher. The level of communication is excellent. I feel we are very lucky and the only downside aspect I can think of is that I wish we could start it much earlier (from 1 – 1 and a half years old).
Antonina M
★★★★★
The nursery has been a truly wonderful, caring and happy place for our daughter to be. We have been so thrilled that she has loved every day and continues to have a wonderful time. Thank you for all that you do to take care of and inspire our daughter. It is a special place and we will remember our daughters time at Mount Carmel very fondly.
S G
★★★★★
We are impressed by the professionalism and care shown by all staff members. Our child clearly loves coming to Mount Carmel and has a special bond with his teacher and other team members. The staff really take the trouble to get to know the children and are very responsive to their needs - initiating contact with us when necessary. We are happy that our child goes there.
D G
★★★★★
Very nurturing and caring environment. Professional and appropriate. My little one is very happy here.
V T
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is a lovely nursery set in a cosy wooden cabin, with a great little playground out the back. Each session sees the kids doing arts and crafts, puzzles, singing, dancing and learning how to play with their peers.
The nursery’s structured approach to activities really appealed to me as my son likes routine and it helps him know what to expect each day. In his second year in the nursery it will also help prepare him for school.
Best of all, the staff are kind, arming and very good at settling both nervous new children and parents alike!
Kelly M
★★★★★
Both my children have now been at Mount Carmel Nursery - my youngest is there now in her preschool year.
I can't adequately express how warm and family-like this nursery is, more than any nursery I've ever seen, it feels like the staff are creating one big family. Every single member of staff is engaging, supportive and loves the children; they seem to enjoy the days and the activities as much as the children do! The activities are so broad; cooking, singing time, country walks, painting, phonics to name a few.
The day is structured in a way that the children know what is coming next, which gives them the security and freedom to explore within that. Learning is hands-on and through play. Children are supported to explore and learn at their own pace, doing the things that they love doing. Mount Carmel prepares them for school in a fun and enjoyable way.
I have watched my child grow and develop in their care, she loves to go to nursery school and talks about it all the time!
Natalie O
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is a very special nursery. On joining, great care is taken to get to know each child really well.
The staff are all very friendly, experienced and professional.
It is a nurturing and happy environment where there are lots of adventures to be had. The children are introduced to a wide range of activities. Our daughter particularly loves the art room and the outside space.
She is having a wonderful time at Mount Carmel.
Ellie R
★★★★★
Mount Carmel has brought out the very best in my son. Through their 'nurture first' approach, focussing primarily on children's happiness and encouraging them to learn through curiosity and play.
Every aspect of the nursery is brilliantly run, from the kind and skilled staff they employ to the carefully crafted carousel setting, where children move around different classes doing varied activities.
My son was once very shy and I found the teachers really took the time to give him the appropriate nurturing to allow him to flourish.
D S
★★★★★
I chose Mount Carmel for my daughter because it came highly recommended by so many people and they were 100% right. My daughter absolutely loves going there. I have a lot of trust in the nursery and the staff. Everyone is so professional, caring, attentive and happy. I have no qualms in leaving my daughter there and I know she is well looked after and is loved while she is at nursery. The nursery is spotless and a really happy environment for my child and I can honestly say that she has thrived since starting there. This nursery has certainly a "from the heart" feel and we could not be happier to have sent our daughter to Mount Carmel.
Silvia S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is amazing. Our 3.5-year-old daughter started here in Sep and absolutely loves it. The teachers and staff are fantastic providing great care and learning. Our daughter has developed her skills set since joining and is happy every day she attended pre-school.
Jen T
★★★★★
I cannot rate Mount Carmel Kindergarten more highly. My son attended between 2015-2017 and my daughter is in her final year there. It really is a magical place to be a part of. Both my children have thrived in the warm, loving environment that's been created at Mount Carmel Kindergarten. It feels like coming home every day the teachers and children alike are always so happy. It's been the best choice for our family.
S W
★★★★★
A lovely, lovely nursery. We are very impressed with the provision for our son and he will for sure be very well prepared for reception next September. All the staff are amazing, very caring and extremely well prepared. We will miss all of them next school year. I'd definitely recommend Mount Carmel Kindergarten to other parents.
Anna G
★★★★★
Both my daughters have attended Mount Carmel (Kinder Lodge and Sandpit House respectively) and loved their time there. For my eldest, Mount Carmel provided the perfect transition to school, developing her enjoyment of learning, physical activity and social interaction. My youngest is at Mount Carmel Sandpit House now, in her pre-school year and is thoroughly enjoying all that Mount Carmel has to offer. We could not recommend more highly! The staff are all fantastic, taking such an interest in the development and journey of each child. Thank you!
Ayesha
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is very welcoming and a very good environment for children, very structured and very nurturing. MCK has been outstanding, we love their activities, staff and facilities. MCK has amazing dedicated long term staff who will put your kids first, enabling them to feel safe as well as stimulating their interests and exposing them to new activities and concepts.
Elene Q
★★★★★
Two of my children have attended this nursery and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. The care and attention they receive is second to none. They have a wonderful philosophy to childcare and each child is made to feel special and appreciated, whilst keeping an open communication with parents.
Tracy M
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten has provided our daughter with amazing opportunities.

She is always excited about going each day.

The facilities and teaching are superb.

There is no turn over of staff so the children get consistent care.

The weekly country walk and ‘show and tell’ are high lights for our daughter.
Freya C
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is fantastic nursery and I have sent both of my daughters from the age of two and a half. The staff are superb, friendly and respectful of each child's individual needs. Facilities are great and the focus on learning through play is exploring, offers a great pre-school foundation. I cannot recommend a nursery more highly.
Helen L
★★★★★
We love it, my son loves it everytime he goes.
Friendly staff. My son has learnt so much since he joined - songs. words etc.
S A
★★★★★
I am a mother of 4 children and I can truly recommend Mount Carmel. My youngest child was fortunate to attend this amazing kinder garden and they were such a special part of her emotional, social and academical development.

Having 4 children we went to so many different nurseries, both London and St Albans, but this is something completely different. The approach, the facilities and the cleanness is on a completely different level from everything that I had seen before. The staff have been very influential for my child and should be recognised for their talented and compassionate personalities. I can for definitely say that this is a nursery like no other and I am hugely grateful for my child to have been educated here.
Jelena P
★★★★★
Both my children have attended Mount Carmel and have thoroughly enjoyed their time there.
My daughter is in the preschool year and will be very sad to leave such a loving and nurturing environment.
She particularly loves the weekly cooking sessions, ‘show and tell’ and performing in the Christmas nativity play!
I cannot fault the staff and management team and daily/weekly communications through the online app are exemplary.
Thank you Mount Carmel for everything you have done for my children.
G S
★★★★★
Wow, where to start. Mount Carmel has been perfect from the day my daughter started. I love seeing a big smile on her face in the morning and an even bigger smile in the evening, showing us what she has done or who she has played with that day. My daughter is safe and thriving in her class and she adores her teacher and support worker. We get regular pictures and feedback from the parent app that the whole family can see, including all the grandparents!
My daughter has a structured day that meets her needs educationally, emotionally and physically. The garden is also safe and mud-free. We could not ask for a more perfect setting to build our daughter into a strong and independent woman.
Lucy K
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is the best pre-school in Hertfordshire. They really understand the importance of a happy, safe, secure environment which allows the children to develop as individuals. Play and happiness is at the heart of every interaction each member of staff makes with the children. They get the importance of stable, consistent, professional staff members who deliver an outstanding service way beyond other "nurseries". This is a family run business where everyone is passionate about child development. Your children are your most prized possessions. This is the place that they should experience to see them grow and flourish.
Lucy S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel has transformed my shy/nervous son into a confident little man in just three months. The small class sizes and the numerous staff means the children all receive a lot of attention and certainly helps create a family atmosphere.
The work the staff put into each child, preparing them for the giant step to "Big school" certainly shines through. It's outstanding on every level, academically, physically, creatively - every subject. They actually teach boys to sit, listen and enjoy writing - outstanding!
I will certainly be sad to end our journey here when it's time to leave in July 2017.
Carly S
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is simply brilliant. Our daughter has been nurtured beautifully and is so happy. She has also learnt a huge amount and gained huge amounts of confidence - nothing could have prepared her for school better. The staff and facilities are both brilliant. There has been lots of fun had in the wonderful (purpose built) garden, as well as in the brilliantly equipped gym and other inside spaces.
Anthony T
★★★★★
Mount Carmel has provided the best possible start for both of my children and has exceeded all of my expectations.
The teaching method and syllabus is a wonderful combination of learning and play and my daughter loves going to nursery every day, my son has since moved on to reception.
The teaching is phenomenal and the staff take the time to understand each and every child and how best to get through to them. As a parent, I felt included by the nursery and teachers in these very important years and it's helped to build a fun bond around education with my children. The nursery is outstanding!
Matthew W
★★★★★
My daughter loves Mount Carmel, they seem to do such a wide range of different activities and the staff are so lovely. She especially loves the singing in circle time and the cooking on Fridays. We are very happy in having chosen Mount Carmel and would happily recommend it to others.
Lucy M
★★★★★
I am very grateful to have found a nursery that I am totally comfortable leaving my son at, knowing he enjoys his time there and is thriving as a result. He always comes home with stories of the different activities he has taken part in and constantly demonstrates how much he is learning. Can't recommend it enough!
Elizabeth S
★★★★★
My boys absolutely love Mount Carmel. They come home excited and recharged and also talk incessantly about their teachers. They have a full day from gym to outdoor play and cooking and drawing and cutting. I have seen their language develop in leaps and bounds and also their personality flourish. It is ridiculously easy to communicate with the nursery and responses are often within the hour. They are lucky to be part of such a stellar experience.
Shazaf F
★★★★★
My middle son is currently attending Mount Carmel Kindergarten. His older brother went there 3 years ago and there is no question that his younger brother will go there in 3 years time! It's an absolutely wonderful nursery and I couldn't fault it in any way, both my boys have absolutely loved it! Everything from sports day to graduation and all the ordinary days in between is done with so much thought and care it's touching. The classes are small which is lovely and the teachers really get to know each child individually. Mount Carmel really know what they're doing when it comes to settling in, both my boys settled really quickly despite having never been left with anyone before. I also think the whole set up of the nursery is amazing for preparing children for school. My eldest is a July birthday but had absolutely no problems when starting school unlike many other summer born boys in his class who really struggled. It's an amazing nursery and I couldn't recommend it more highly.
Rachel
★★★★★
My daughter spent two wonderful years at Mount Carmel and it was an excellent transition from a gentle home nanny environment to her now being at school. It offered comfort and support through the most sensitive and nurturing teachers allowing the children to grow, develop and most importantly have fun. When she started school, she settled in perfectly and I believe this is due to the amazing experience at Mount Carmel Kindergarten. I can’t wait for another 2 years as my son joins them in September this year.
Ginny T
★★★★★
Lovely nursery, my daughter settled in so well with the help of fantastic teachers. All staff seem so engaged with the children. My daughter loves going to nursery every morning - a parent could ask for nothing more!
Alia C
★★★★★
My daughter loves the nursery and the teachers. She loves going in and always has a great time. I feel totally relaxed knowing she is in safe hands and is well looked after.
It's a great nursery.
Esther R
★★★★★
Mount Carmel is an excellent nursery. The staff are wonderful, caring, friendly and very understanding, always happy to help. The nursery provides lots of exciting activities and every day is different with structure, learning and most of all plenty of fun. It is a secure, friendly and warm environment with lots of very happy children. My daughter has attended the nursery for over a year now and she absolutely loves everything about it. I'm so pleased I chose Mount Carmel and would highly recommend it.
G B
★★★★★
Mount Carmel Kindergarten is a fantastic nursery. My second child, who is currently attending, absolutely loves going. There is a warm, friendly environment and a lot of stimulating activities for him. He especially likes the cooking every Friday.
Christopher N
★★★★★
My daughter loves Mount Carmel and is disappointed on the days she does not attend. The surroundings and facilitates are fantastic. The staff are nurturing and provide a caring, friendly environment. The wrap around care and holiday club are an added bonus with different themes each week.
J K
★★★★★
My daughter started this nursery in September and from the moment we walked through the door myself and daughter were amazed by the welcoming atmosphere and warmth from all the staff. My daughter adores going to nursery and I feel happy leaving her there in the more than capable hands of all the staff. The teachers are amazing and the venue inside and outside is just perfect. Such a special place, we all love it.
G M

What do our Parents say?

We asked some parents what makes Mount Carmel Kindergarten such a special place and this is what they said.

Video


Find out more

Please explore our website to find out more about Mount Carmel Kindergarten.